How to Forget a Network on Mac – the Best Ways

If you are a Mac user, you know that Macs automatically connect to familiar networks. If you have connected your device to a specific network once, the computer ‘remembers’ it.

The connection will be automatically established when you bring the same device to the same network next time. This process can occur with your home Wi-Fi, office Wi-Fi, or public Wi-Fi.

At a glance, this process looks like a convenient option. However, this option may cause severe threats to your privacy when it comes to public networks.

In general, public networks are not safe. Everybody (even hackers) connects to these networks for various purposes. Since you are not aware of the security level of public networks, you should stay away from them.

Part 1. Why Should You Learn How to Forget a Network on Mac?

You will need to forget networks on Mac, particularly due to privacy and safety concerns. As you should already know, networks established in public places are not that safe.

These Wi-Fi networks have fewer security measures. Both open and public Wi-Fi hotspots are accessed by different types of users with different intentions.

If you have once connected to one of those public networks, your Mac will remember the details of it. The Mac will then use these details to connect to the same network later on.

The connection will happen automatically if you bring the same Mac to the same network. That is because of the saved network information.

However, things can get risky if the respective network’s security has been compromised. If your Mac automatically connects to a network without your knowledge, your data can be stolen by third parties.

Such instances can occur with networks available in restaurants, libraries, coffee shops, malls, hotels, airports, etc.

The best way to avoid these instances is to stay away from public networks and forget the connected networks. That is why every Mac user should learn how to forget a network on Mac.

Part 2. Here’s How to Forget a Network on Mac

Now you know the importance of forgetting a network on Mac, let’s see how to do it.

1. By Removing the Potential Network from Preferred Networks List

You can easily delete an unnecessary network permanently from a Mac device with the assistance of this method. To do this, you should follow the steps we have listed down.

Click on the Wi-Fi option located on the desktop of your Apple Mac. After clicking on the Wi-Fi icon, you will be able to notice a drop-down menu. From this menu, you should select the option labeled “Open Network Preferences.”

Instead, you may go to the Apple menu and select “System Preferences.” Then you can go to the “Network” option to end up in the same window.

Now, you can select the option called “Wi-Fi, ” located in the sidebar. Go to the “Advanced” option in this menu’s corner.

You will see a new window appearing. You should now see Plus (+) and Minus (-) symbols. You should select the network you need to forget from the Mac and click on the minus button.

These steps will forget the stored network from the Mac. You can save the settings simply by following the instructions on the screen.

2. Make Networks Prioritized Properly

This method doesn’t let you remove the networks from your Mac. However, it prevents the Mac from getting connected automatically to networks. You should remember that this is only a temporary solution. This is a very simple method you can follow.

Go to System Preferences (which can be accessed through the Apple icon). Then, go to the “Network” option.

Now, access the lock icon by tapping on it and getting it unlocked. Click on the “Advanced” option to proceed to the next step.

Select the Wi-Fi network you need to give priority. Then, drag it to the topmost position in the preferred network list. Likewise, you can customize the priority of other networks as well. The network you don’t need to connect to should be kept at the end of the list.

Press “OK” to save the settings you have made, and that would be it!

As a result of this method, your Mac will connect to the networks determining the priority list created. So, your Mac will be first connected to the topmost network present on the list.

The last network on the list will be neglected on most occasions. However, we should remind you that this method is less secure compared to the previous method.

Part 3. Protect Your Mac from Threats Associated with Unsafe Networks

When your Mac is connected to an unsafe network, things can be pretty risky for you. Various attacks can reach your Mac through these unsafe networks to compromise your data security.

You will become vulnerable to cyber-attacks, identity thefts, phishing attacks, etc., upon such instances. Some of these attacks can make your data completely inaccessible, and that can be frustrating.

To avoid all these unpleasant experiences and stay safe, every Mac user should have the below-mentioned tools.

1. Wondershare Recoverit (A Powerful Data Recovery Tool for Mac)

Losing valuable data stored due to a virus attack or any other reason is a frustrating experience.

However, if you have a tool like Wondershare Recoverit, you can recover lost data from your Mac easily. Recoverit can recover your data regardless of the way you lost the files.

Features of Wondershare Recoverit

  • Recover deleted or lost data due to virus attacks
  • It can recover over 550 data types from Mac computers
  • It is compatible with devices including NTFS, FAT32, APFS, FAT16, etc.
  • Very powerful and efficient data analyzer to deploy a faster scanning process
  • Unique and advanced scan algorithm to scan for files
  • Can recover data from formatted hard drives, lost or modified partitions, raw hard drives, etc.

2. MacKeeper (An All-inclusive Tool That Protects and Maintains Your Mac)

As the name suggests, MacKeeper is advanced software that can protect your Mac and maintain it. If you need to protect your Mac from malware and other potential attacks, you should come through unsafe networks and use MacKeeper.

Also, it can speed up your Mac and clean it up to let you experience optimal performance.

Features of MacKeeper

  • Protects your Mac from various scams, spyware, malware, identity thefts, phishing attacks, etc.
  • Cleans your Mac and removes junk files, duplicated files, etc., and speeds up the performance
  • It can find and uninstall unnecessary apps on your Mac and assure your safety
  • Optimizes the memory of your Mac and lets you enjoy the best performance

We honestly believe that our article provided substantial knowledge about how to forget a network on Mac. You can try those two methods we mention and stay away from unwanted risks.

Also, if you prefer optimal performance and better security, you should consider using the software tools we have mentioned.

Jason

Jason

Excellent software expert specializing in sorts of software & application testings, making comparisons, researching, and loves blogging, writing reviews, video tutorials, and the like.